NOT a Dancing Radish

The unique hunting dance of the Reddish Egret is always a thrill to see.

January 10th, 2024 ~ My brother and his wife had joined my hubby and me on our trip down to South Padre Island, Texas. None of the three of them have been bitten by the birding bug, but they are very patient with me, and share my excitement (if not my exuberance) when we can see something special.

As we headed toward the South Padre Island Birding Center, I endured their light-hearted ribbing as I described what we might see. And, sure enough, one of my favorite birds came through.

Reddish Egret not happy about the water’s depth
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

The Reddish Egret is a medium-sized heron, with russet head and neck, and a slate-gray body. At this time of year as the breeding season approaches, their head, neck and back plumes are growing longer, giving them a more fierce expression. Their bill also changes, from solid dark gray to half-and-half, pink and gray.

The wind was blustery, and the tide was very far out, revealing acres of wide mud flats with just the shallowest skin of water. This Reddish Egret, Egretta rufescens, looked a little frustrated with the hunting possibilities as he stepped across the flats. Like all egrets and herons (really two different words for the same Family of birds, Ardeidae), he typically wades in a few inches of water hunting for fish and other aquatic prey.

He strode purposefully under the boardwalk on the western edge of the Center, and found a quiet waterway between the mangroves containing 4 or 5 inches of water. Time to hunt!

And now, for my opening move…
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

The Reddish Egret has a unique approach to hunting. It is known for its “dancing”. Its hunting strategy is to shadow the water by forming a shade canopy with its wings, and to startle the fish into moving either by suddenly collapsing the canopy, or by running and jumping erratically through the water, or both!

Don’t give the fish time to think
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

I didn’t move from my vantage point on the boardwalk, so you can see how he danced across the inlet.

Dang-it! Where are you hiding?
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

I had assumed that the scattered white feathers among the slate-gray indicated that this was a young adult, finishing his molt into his adult coloration. But I was wrong. The juvenile Reddish Egret is mottled cinnamon and gray, and the immature is light gray, not white.

Approximately 15% – 20% of Reddish Egrets are pure white “white morphs” (not albinos, as they have black legs and bill). At least one has been photographed by blogger Brian, of Wildlife Intrigued, at the Center. The dark morphs and the white morphs can interbreed. Two dark morph birds can have white morph chicks, but two white morph birds won’t have dark morph chicks. Sometimes, the dark offspring have a few pure white feathers, as in this dancer.

Freeze, and hold that pose
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

A key feature of a good hunting place is that any silt on the bottom is heavy and sticky or penetrates down below the sand layer, trapped so that it doesn’t stir up in a dense cloud to obscure the view.

Wait for it…
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

I loved this wide-legged stance, like a basketball player, setting the screen. Some of his wispy back plumes are visible beyond his wing.

Ha! I saw you! Arrrgh!
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

He changed directions multiple times, trying to fool the fish into mis-guessing his next move. He never stood still for more than a few seconds, striding and feinting from side to side.

And… hold… again…
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

He cast another canopy, trying a different angle against the weak sunlight.

Snack!
1/2500 sec. ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

And it worked!  He snapped a fish in his bill and whipped it back and forth to subdue it, flinging water drops left and right. Then, in one deft move, he tossed it up, snatched it out of the air into the back of his throat and swallowed it down. I swear he seemed to be grinning at his hard-won success. I was certainly grinning as I returned to my family along the boardwalk, and my family was grinning as they watched me return, so excited to have seen a dancing Reddish.

THIS is a radish.
A reddish radish.

Our normally temperate Texas weather decided to do Winter with a capital W, so we bundled into the vehicles and headed back toward our homes in Houston and Tyler, to prepare them for frigid temperatures. Of course, we will return… there are whole State Parks full of birds that we haven’t seen yet!

Author: Sam.Rappen

Retired from a major US manufacturer after 36 years of exciting work. Avid amateur bird watcher and photographer, and occasional blogger.

38 thoughts on “NOT a Dancing Radish”

  1. These photos are exquisite. I’m completely taken with the texture of the feathers: particularly the reddish ones. I’ve had the chance to watch these birds a few times, but it’s wonderful to see them even more clearly through your lens. My eyes can distinguish color and movement, and the bird’s ‘basic design,’ but the details you can show us are simply luscious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aren’t those reddish plumes wonderful? They remind me of very narrow ribbons, or strips of paper. Interestingly, the egret can erect those feathers on his head, as well as puff out those feathers on his chest. In their mating display, the birds will make their head plumes stand out like the leaves of a yucca, making their heads appear larger, and their aspect fiercer… another item on my “want to see” list 🙂 Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Linda L.!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I was wishing for just a bit more light, to really highlight the textures… but then I read that the canopy behavior is typically used on cloudy days, not brighter ones. So, if it had been brighter, I might not have gotten these shots at all. Thanks for reading and commenting, Jean!

      Like

  2. A fantastic series of Big Red the dazzling dancer. Makes River Dance look dull.

    Your superb photographs have motivated me to add to my folder. So, off to the east coast next week and back home closer to the Gulf coast the following. Hopefully, some of your luck will rub off and I’ll have a chance to watch the dance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ballet dancer is such a descriptive phrase, I’m glad you offered that. The Reddish really does give Nureyev some competition, doesn’t he? Thanks for stopping by, Gigi!

      Like

  3. Fantastic behavior photos Sam! I can imagine what the Reddish is thinking from each of your photos. How fun to capture the sequence! And to have captured a morph as a bonus. Thanks for sharing and setting the bar just a little bit higher for the rest of us. (Shhh, don’t tell Brian or he’ll up the challenge level for my annual review.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heh, I think you have that annual review sewn up pretty well! The dancing Reddish was a real treat. I keep thinking about how much energy they expend in that dancing activity, and how small the snack often is at the end of it. Life as a bird is pretty precarious. Thanks for reading and commenting, Brad!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ya got the dance 👏👏👏, and quite well too. I was thinking of doerfpub and the White Morph as I read this, and then came upon your mention.
    The Reddish are a bird you can never see enough of. You spurred me on to go to my Red folder shot a few weeks ago and never published.
    Thanks for the great show 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Always happy to help out 🙂 Thank you for helping doerfub with the Reddish ID, that made for a fun post. And thanks for reading and commenting, Ted!

      Like

  5. Wonderful that you got to see a Reddish in action! They are such an exciting challenge to follow and photograph. We have seen several over the years with a few white wing feathers and it makes it easy to recognize individual birds. There seem to be a lot more south of us and you had the advantage of a clean background for all of his antics. Shame the weather shortened your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t even think about those white feathers enabling the identification of a single individual – that is SO cool. Now I have an even more exciting reason to return. Yeah, we were bummed about the shortened trip… but it could have been a much bigger impact. We drove instead of flying, and all the hotels refunded our stays… and we can go back, almost at the drop of a hat!

      Like

    1. They are a strictly coastline bird, between latitudes roughly 30N and 15S, so Massachusetts, way up there at 42N is off his patch. Not to worry, you have loads of birds I’ve never seen in person. That’s what makes the web so fascinating! Thanks for your comment, Steve!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for the shout out Sam! I am absolutely stunned how gorgeous your pictures turned out – beyond capturing all the rich colors and textures of the Reddish, you were able to really tin some incredible expressions and postures – tough to do when they are dancing around like their straight lining Pixie Sticks. The Freeze, and hold that pose and And… hold… again… shots are truly superb. So glad you had a productive time before having to head back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I realized what I had (a morph, of sorts), I couldn’t help thinking of your find. I do love it when they throw up that canopy, and I was so lucky at least some of his positions happened to be facing me. That inlet is a small-ish space, so he didn’t do any flying leaps… but there is that entire bay. I just have to time my next visit to not happen at low tide.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Your animated egret looks like he’s performing the bird version of the “slick back slide” (dance step currently taking the internet by storm).
    I really appreciate that you go out to find these avian wonders; and that you share. The photos you take are so clear and close, and your prose so informative, i feel almost as though I was there with you…
    …to see a dancin-radish egret! Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I got a lot of good-natured ribbing from my family about my new Texas accent when I first moved from Colorado… and they continue to be creative! So glad you came along for the virtual exploration. I haven’t kept up with modern dance moves, but that slickback is really something, thanks for the tip!

      Like

    1. I had a lot of fun making up the captions, putting human thoughts in his birdy brain. But I have to remind myself that he is a bird, designed for hunting and reproducing. His overhanging brow reduces glare from the bright sky, and all those plumes allow him to puff up and impress his potential mates. For him, this was probably just another day in the field. Thanks for reading and commenting, Sharon!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. What a fun post! I don’t think I’ve ever seen this bird in person, but your fantastic shots made me feel like I was there, watching the dance in person. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everything just came together – the location, the light, his action… and the fact I had a convenient boardwalk railing to stabilize the lens upon. Thanks for your comment, Vicki!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.