Elegant Elanus

A couple misses and fumbles finally led to an exciting time with an elegant bird in Galveston, Texas.

February 7th, 2024 ~ I had headed to Galveston Island State Park, thinking that this chilly afternoon might be a great opportunity to wander the trails before the summer’s heat returned.

Portion of the Galveston Island State Park map, showing Clapper Rail Trail

This state park provides a wealth of different habitats all packed into an area only about 1.5 miles wide x 3 miles across. There are bays, bayous, marshy prairies, stunted wind-blasted oak trees, sandy tidal flats, and tidal mud flats. On this day in early February, the high temp hovered in the mid 50’sF, and the breeze was stiff and chill out of the north. I made my way along a path that was new to me, barely more than an eight-inch-wide sandy track through the gray-green winter marsh grass. I had already forded several inch-deep seeps, and my socks squelched with each step. The Park Service provides a great Trail Map, shown in part here, and I used it to pick my way along red-dashed Clapper Rail Trail before it loops.

Just a glimpse of the underside of a white bird
1/2000 sec. f/8 ISO 500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

I was passing a stand of yaupon and salt cedar, when a bird sailed very low past my right shoulder. This is one of those situations where an off-the-cuff blast from the camera, with little aiming and no settings adjustment was extremely valuable. What had I seen? Let’s see, a medium-sized white bird only a few hundred yards from Galveston Bay. A seagull? No, the head is wrong. Oh, maybe a Mississippi Kite?? I had seen a pair of Mississippi’s a couple years ago, and would be thrilled to see them again. I slogged quickly along the trail to get a closer look.

Those eyes!
1/2000 sec. f/8 ISO 500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

A pair of lovely white and pearl-gray hawks with the most amazing amber-red eyes calmly watched me from the top of their yaupon perch. Most of you can already see my error, but I was still clueless. Gray and white, dark slate-gray or black “shoulder” patch, shadowed tail, spelled M-I-S-S… Oops.

White from head to tail, with gray back and black “shoulder” patches
1/2000 sec. f/8 ISO 500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

As the hawks maneuvered to keep their balance in the gusty wind, the one on the left revealed his tail. It was white, not gray as it would be on a Mississippi Kite. I reconsidered that snap-shot of the bird in flight: it had revealed a pure white underside, and a dark gray spot at the “wrist” on the underside of the wing.

These were not Mississippi Kites, they were White-tailed Kites, Elanus leucurus, and I believe they are a new species for me.

White-tailed Kite range map, courtesy of All About Birds

Their feet are butterscotch (ok, the books all say “yellow”), and the cere (the area of the bill around the nostrils) is a pale butter-yellow. Males and females look the same; none of my references (Sibley’s, Peterson’s, Cornell’s) even note any size difference between males and females.  

The White-tailed Kite is a year-round resident across its range. It is found in savannas, prairies, marshes and desert grasslands with isolated shrubs, as well as in agricultural fields. It nests high in trees, often at the edge of forests, or in isolated stands surrounded by open fields. They pair up in early spring, and nest-building starts in February.

Their Genus, “Elanus” is ancient Greek for “kite”, and these birds are known for “kiting”, the habit of hovering with fast wing beats at high elevations (up to around 80 feet) as they search the ground for prey. When they spot something, they fold their wings upward and drop almost straight down, plummeting from the sky toward their target.

Any good snacks down there?
1/2000 sec. f/8 ISO 320
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

One of the birds kept studying the area below. White-tailed Kites eat mostly small mammals, but supplement with small reptiles and amphibians, all of which could easily have been hiding in the dense grass at the base of the yaupon. They occasionally will take small birds, but they do it so rarely that mixed-species feeding flocks rarely startle at their presence. It is unlikely the kites were considering this as a nest location, since they prefer nesting high in tall trees, where the yaupon shrubs were only 10-12 feet tall.

Kites in yaupon shrubs knitted with zig-zag greenbriar
1/2000 sec. f/8 ISO 500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

In this wide shot, you can see how much I’ve cropped the images. The kites were pretty far away (and yes, I wish I had the new Nikon Z9 feature of measuring distance to your subject). The bird on the left took another good look at the ground.

I was peering over tall marsh grasses and weeds, that fogged the lower portion of the photo. Which gave me an idea. I stepped off the narrow track into the marsh grass, aiming to work my way to the side and forward a bit. Didn’t take me any time at all to recognize my stupidity. The marsh grasses are approximately 4 feet tall, but in the winter, they lay over on themselves in gray whorls of grassy mops, stitched through by those thorny vines with the heart-shaped leaves that you see in all these photos. So, with each step you sink down, down through the tangled grass and thorny vines to settle in 2 inches of water. Instantly, the swirled grass settles over each foot and around each ankle, and bob’s your uncle, you are on your knees, and then on your elbows trying to keep the camera and its lovely (heavy) lens out of the brambles and swamp water. Note to self: Stay on the path.

Pair of kites hunkered down in the wind
1/2000 sec. f/8 ISO 500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

Yaupon Holly, Ilex vomitoria, is native to the southeastern United States. It is drought tolerant, freeze tolerant, salt tolerant, and can easily be hedged (as has been done on Galveston Island by the prevailing spring and summer winds from the south). The berries are toxic to most mammals, but are eaten by many birds, so it has a place in any bird habitat.

The thorny vine with arrowhead leaves might be a Greenbriar, smilax, but I could be mistaken. According to Foraging Texas, the Greenbriars are the only thorn vines with tendrils, and I think I see a pair at the base of each leaf stem.

White-tailed Kite squinting into the wind
1/2000 sec. f/8 ISO 320
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

I knew how she felt. My squinting muscles were tired, too. I had enjoyed a good scramble, and had spent time with some stunning birds. As the sun sank toward the horizon, I grinned and headed back over the bridge to the mainland, and home.

Author: Sam.Rappen

Retired from a major US manufacturer after 36 years of exciting work. Avid amateur bird watcher and photographer, and occasional blogger.

20 thoughts on “Elegant Elanus”

  1. Exact same SP where I spotted my first White-Tailed Kite! My first was sitting on the powerlines across the street in the since renovated RV area near the beach. We go to that SP every year to get that species checked off my list for the year. Not sure which trail you were on this time, but I also know the Clapper Trail quite well. There is a boardwalk/bridge not far into that trail (past the observation deck) that I would take a seat at and wait for an actual Clapper Rail to come walking out – a perfect name for that trail ha. I also like the bird statue not too far past that. Did you take a drive down 8 Mile Rd and then the left at the end along the water? That is a good place to spot Peregrines, Merlins, Sandhills, Kingfishers and a host of waders and ducks. We have a number of places we like to visit in and around the Galveston area if you are ever interested although you probably already know a number of them. Thanks for bringing us these incredibly beautiful and talented hunters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How cool is that!! Yes, Clapper Rail Trail is where I spotted the kites. I also did a quick recon of the RV side of the park over by the Gulf, but the ranger said the trail was too muddy and recommended I skip it this time. I also did 8 Mile Road, Sportsman’s Road, and Homreghaus Road, all of which are usually quite productive, but not so much on this outing. You are right, the Galveston Island State Park area is just full of opportunities!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It all happened in slow motion… which was good, because I didn’t startle the birds… and was bad because I had lots of time to think thousands of recriminations on the way down. Thanks for reading and commenting, Ellen!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Outstanding post and photographs! Congratulations on superb images of a raptor many have never heard about, much less had a chance to see.

    Your experience mirrors my initial sighting of a White-tailed Kite several years ago at Attwater Prairie Chicken NWR. With my southeastern mind-set, I suspected the perched bird was a Mississippi Kite. Finally got close enough to see details that changed my mind.

    I managed to keep my feet dry. (This time.)

    Thank you for sharing a great memory.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t get out to Attwater as often as I should, I’m tickled pink to hear that the White-tailed Kite might be seen there. The lure of birds is difficult to resist, and I suspect all of us will get into tricky territory from time to time. Glad to have brought that memory to light, it was a good one!

      Like

  3. Hard won photos Sam. I enjoyed the story of discovering which birds they were. Are there lens floaties if you find yourself deep in the water again?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heh. If I find myself in that situation again, I die of shame, so No Problem! Or, maybe, I need a Floatie of Shame, like the Cone of Shame cartoon doggies wear?

      I did enjoy the hunt for the Kite’s identity… made me think!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Quite true, Rudi, and a great observation. I can think of a few white raptors (e.g., the snowy owl, gyrfalcon, ptarmigan, white hawk, white Siberian goshawk), but that is hardly a handful. Many hawks have a white belly and underwings, which makes them less visible against the sky from the ground. But it’s hard to think of a reason for being white, or nearly white, all over, especially in areas without snow cover.

      I do have one idea: White feathers weigh much less than pigmented feathers. If the bird is specializing for very fast flight (or perhaps, for hovering), then every milligram counts, and white feathers become an advantage. This is why many large white birds (e.g., stork, ibis, pelican, etc.) often have black feathers only at the tips of their wings – the pigmented feathers are heavier, but they are also stronger, and resist wear better, so being mostly white with black only in high-wear parts of the body makes sense.

      Thanks for reading Rudi, and for your thought-provoking comments!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are right and I certainly know the snowy owl as a white bird (thanks for the others)

        The fact that white feathers weigh less, is totaly new for me. Very interesting to know and as you say, large birds are often white. Now I know why :-) Thank you so much Sam 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I once had a birder point out a Kite to me at Brazoria. It was at the top of a dead tree down by the tank and windmill, but it was so far away that the best I could do was a photo of it stretching one wing. I didn’t realize there are two species; the person who pointed out the bird said it was a Mississippi Kite, but who knows? I do have a reader who lives in Alvin who regularly sees Kites, but again: who knows which species.

    Your photos are exquisite. I think your butterscotch description of the color is just right, and those eyes! It’s interesting that they hunt in the same way as Osprey. It’s great fun watching them hover and dive while I’m at work. (And I’m sure you’re right about the Smilax. I’d bet on Smilax bona-nox.)

    There is an alternative to staying on the path: boots. From your comment about squishy sock, I’d guess you weren’t wearing any. I almost always wear them, since they protect against fire ants as well as water. I purchased this pair in 2015, and they’re still going strong. I keep them in a plastic box in the trunk, along with insect spray, denatured alcohol for dealing with poison ivy, Benadryl for stings, and a change of clothes. I know myself too well not to go well-armed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’ve described the perfect explorer’s kit, for sure! I have everything except the boots in my go-kit in the trunk. I’ll check into the boots, they look great, but I have some unique fitting issues that make finding off-the-shelf shoes (or boots) fairly problematic.

      Now that I’ve made this identification mistake, I wonder how often I might have seen White-tails and assumed they were Mississippi’s. Well, all I can do is forge on, and not make that mistake again. Here’s to a future full of NEW mistakes 🙂

      I agree with you about the Osprey hunting style. I remember standing at the edge of Lake Granby in Colorado, and observing in astonishment that hummingbirds were not the only birds who could fly backwards. Of course, the mechanics are a bit different: the hummer can fly backwards in perfectly still air, while the Osprey can only fly backward if he can float/sail on the wind. It is still something to see!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.