Flat-out Fun

Bolivar Peninsula is essentially a long flat sand bar… which is often covered with birds. No better recipe for fun than that!

November 16th, 2023 ~ This outing took place back in November, when the upper Gulf Coast was finally cooling off. The weather reports predicted cloud cover without rain, so I headed to Bolivar Flats, at the southern tip of the barrier island that extends along our Texas coast northeast of Galveston.

Grooming thousands of feathers, one at a time
1/2000 sec. f/5.6 ISO 2000
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)
(Click on any image once to enlarge in a new window; close that window to return here.)

A Long-billed Curlew, Numenius americanus, was using his long elegant bill to deal with one pesky feather…

Long-billed Curlew, at seaside
1/2000 sec. f/5.6 ISO 2000
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

…and then he posed for us, so we could see ALL of his (or her) bill.

I wondered about the little indentation near the tip of his bill, worrying that he had been injured. Nope. Long-billed Curlews, like many sandpipers that probe along the water’s edge for their favorite crustaceans and mollusks, have a specialized nerve center in the tip of their bill, sort of like the tip of your finger, that senses minute changes in water pressure as water passes objects in saturated soil (it is actually much more sensitive than your finger).

Ruddy Turnstones having a spat
1/2000 sec. f/5.6 ISO 2000
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

Two Ruddy Turnstones, Arenaria interpres, down from the Arctic for the winter, were arguing loudly. The aggressor kept after the subservient bird for several minutes, until finally the subservient bird actually lowered his tail, extended his neck, and laid his chin on the ground. The aggressor lifted one foot as if he was going to stomp the cowering bird’s face, but relented, and flew away, still squawking in agitation.

These two are showing their winter plumage, faded so as to blend almost perfectly into the wrack along the shoreline. I’m only sharing one shot of the action because a danged piece of trash spoiled the other images. I was able to remove it from this image, but in the others, it couldn’t be removed without impinging on the feather detail.

Graceful American Avocet
1/1600 sec f/5.6 ISO 2500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

An American Avocet, Recurvirostra americana, placed one delicate blue foot thoughtfully after the other. Their blue toes are partially webbed, allowing them to swim for short distances. Their bill is curved upward (recurved), and the female’s bill is more sharply curved than the male’s. Chicks hatch with a much shorter, straight bill, but develop the long recurved bill by the time they are adults. Avocets typically feed by scything (stroking their bill side-to-side through shallow water, feeling for prey). It is not a common behavior; Roseate Spoonbills are one of the few other birds that use this method of feeding.

American Avocets in winter plumage
1/2000 sec. f/5.6 ISO 2000
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

A pair of American Avocets flew by in perfect synchronization. They often fly in unison, and they also flock in the shallow water in unison, all pointing their heads one way and their tails another. In the winter, they are black and white; during the breeding season, their head and neck will develop a pale cinnamon blush.

Black Skimmers at Bolivar Flats
1/2000 sec. f/5.6 ISO 2000
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

I was thrilled to see Black Skimmers, Rynchops niger, flying formation just above the gentle surf. Seeing skimmers skimming has been on my list of desired images for several years. Maybe I would get lucky.

A Black Skimmer cutting across the water
1/2000 sec. f/5.6 ISO 2500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

And there they were! A small group of approximately twenty skimmers flew back and forth, at one point coming within about 75 feet of the water’s edge.

Black Skimmer fly-by
1/2000 sec. f/5.6 ISO 2500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

The birds wheeled and returned along the shallow surf line, then turned again for another run. Black Skimmers feed all day, but are most active at dawn and dusk. Their eyes have narrow vertical slit pupils, like those of a cat, which give them excellent vision in near-dark situations, permitting them to feed at night.

Black Skimmers, skimming
1/2000 sec f/5.6 ISO 2500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

In the image above, the bird in the foreground is an adult in non-breeding plumage, showing gray dappling along the neck and shoulders. In breeding season, this will be sharp well-defined black against the rest of his pure-white body.

The skimmer has an unusual bill. They are in the Family of gulls and terns, but unlike the gull’s thick cylindrical bill, the skimmer’s bill is shaped like a knife blade, wide from top-to-bottom for strength, but almost invisibly thin from side-to-side, for slicing through the water. Although the birds hatch with upper and lower bills of the same length, by adulthood the lower bill extends a good inch farther than the upper bill. The young can grasp their own ground-dwelling bugs or crabs, but the adults eat only water-borne animals (mostly fish and shrimp in the winter) that they trap when the water sweeps the prey between their bills, triggering a reflex that snaps the upper bill down on the captured prey.

Range maps for four species of birds found in winter at Bolivar Flats, courtesy of All About Birds

The wide expanse of Bolivar Flats is perfect for watching birds in, on, near and above the water, as the flat landscape doesn’t hinder visibility, and you can wander freely over the sand, between ponds, dunes and tidepools. The eBird hotspot map shows over 300 species of birds have been recorded here at the Flats, and as you can see from the range maps of each bird featured in this post, the Flats offer a safe and productive winter ground for many of those species.

The skimmers are here year-round, but the avocets, curlews and turnstones are only here in the winter. It was fun to see such a wealth of birds, and to range with them across the Flats.

Author: Sam.Rappen

Retired from a major US manufacturer after 36 years of exciting work. Avid amateur bird watcher and photographer, and occasional blogger.

33 thoughts on “Flat-out Fun”

  1. What an outstanding collection of superb photographs.

    Sandbars are such great places when the birds are there. I usually get whiplash trying to keep up with the comings and goings. At the end of such a trip as yours – wet and sandy feet/clothes/hair/equipment – totally worth it!

    That image of the Avocet pair in flight is really quite special, in my very not so humble opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We are so excited (well, I’m excited, and he’s just happy to be along) – we’ve planned an overnight stay on Bolivar Peninsula, so morning and evening shots might also be possible. Seeing the Skimmers fish in near dark would be really special.

      Yes, salt water and sand everywhere. New items to pack in my photo equipment box include water shoes, dry socks, and towels. And I’ve bought a fine-hair paintbrush for winkling the sand out of my camera gear. SO much fun, and TOTALLY worth it!

      Like

  2. Every time I read someone’s report on Bolivar Flats, I think, “I should go there.” But I never have. Clearly, if birds were my primary interest, I’d already have made multiple visits; your photos are proof of the variety that can be found. It’s especially interesting to see the Skimmers and Ruddy Turnstones. I’ve seen each species only once, and I don’t think of them as ‘resident’ birds; I found a Skimmer at the Brazoria refuge, and a group of three Turnstones at the head of the bay in Palacios, but that’s it. I’ve always thought of Skimmers as a south Texas bird, probably because of the numerous news reports about their nesting areas around Corpus Christi. Now that I think of it, I’ve exactly one photo of an Avocet, also from Brazoria.

    Thanks to your excellent photos, I’m sure now that it was a flock of Long-billed Curlews that I saw in a vacant lot down by the Aransas wildlife refuge. There were about thirty that flew in and landed as I was driving through Austwell. I was the one slamming on my brakes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I frequently find a flock of Skimmers at the beginning of the Texas City Dike – there is a parking lot near a boat dock, and they apparently like to rest on the sandy pavement.

      From a plant perspective, the Bolivar Flats area is a little less accessible – there are no walking paths through the marsh grass back from the shore. But Frenchtown Road, to your left just as you get off the ferry onto the peninsula is a good drive past some nice marsh habitat, and is infrequently enough traveled to permit occasionally stopping the car on the road for a closerlook.

      I had forgotten about your unidentified flock of birds – so glad you reminded me! And glad you now have an identification.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful bird photographs. I have to admit to being a wee bit envious of your sharp focus, especially for birds in flight.

    The long-billed curlew has exquisite feather patterns. Whether rare or common, birds are well worth taking the time to photograph. I think it is the challenge to get them in focus as much as the sighting of a bird which is only seasonal in your area.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One of my strong desires is to capture something new or surprising about even the most common birds. After all, they are advanced creatures having complex interactions with their environment and each other. What better way to learn about them than to carefully observe even the most humble of them.

      I agree with your comment on the challenge of getting them in focus – I often feel like a flag in a tornado, and my long lens does catch the wind something fierce. But the challenge is half the fun of being out among them! Thanks for reading and commenting, Vicki!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. From their range maps, it looks like you’d only have to go down to the Carolina’s to see the Curlew. Might be a fun way to celebrate Valentine’s Day. Thanks for reading and commenting, Donna!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I definitely know Bolivar Flats well and never miss a chance to stop by there on our winter migration …well, usually, this year was a deviation that we have since regretted. Typically we get there by the very enjoyable ferry ride..or rather the “find the Dolphins jaunt”. Now that we haul the Jeep with us, we can drive out to the poles … cuts down on the walking ha. The flats are a birders dream – even the Jetty ahead of it is a nice spot to spend some time. Love the Turnstone interaction shot – never witnessed any aggressiveness like that on my own encounters – how intriguing. Most of the time when I see them they are just walking around docile in small groups. At 5.6 fstop, you were probably pushing the focus depth needed lengthwise to get that Curlew fully in focus hehehe.  That is a looooong bird with that snoz. I have never seen Skimmers there (that I can remember). I need to go back and check my shots from there – can watch them hunt all day long. Your tandem shot is awesome! And now the Avocets. There is something about them that makes you smile… maybe its the blue legs you perfectly captured. There were flocks of 500+ there last January. Just a sea of white, black, brown and blue moving through in massive groupings. Bolivar, oh, how I miss ya, but big thanks for taking us along with you. Oh, last time I was there an idiot got his truck stuck in a floodle thanks to going way out there when the tide was low and forgetting the water comes back. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right, a person could spend hours and hours out there. But, birds being birds, I went again last week, and there were almost no birds. A pair of Caracaras far away in the marsh grass, a Northern Harrier so high up it was only his fluttering flight pattern that ID’d him, a squadron of White Pelicans, a few peeps. This is why I need to go more often, to learn more about shore bird habits and patterns.

      “Stuck in a floodle”, now there is an image. And I’m among the fools that sometimes get caught by the tides. It happened on this last Bolivar trip. I had assumed that the water from the rising tide would creep up the shore from the main body of the bay in an organized and predictable fashion. But nooo. It also seeps under the surface sand, filling depressions to isolate sandy islands. After walking 3/4ths of a mile back toward the car between two ponds, my path disappeared under a 20-foot wide channel. Well heck. Wading through that with my lens cradled up high to protect it from splashing salt water was a duck-footed experience… and I’m sure I was the laugh of the day for the kids in their ATV parked at the posts.

      I swear, I’m getting smarter every day, in spite of myself! Thanks for reading and commenting, Bri, I always learn from your contributions!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. [looks sheepishly down] Okay, I’ll admit it – I got stuck on the other side of that “channel” last time I was there. I walked past the posts all the way down and then around the bend to the right (which takes you toward the Jetty). Then came back hugging the outer waterline trying to find some Piping Plovers – The now likely former Rose from the famous Chicago Monty and Rose Plovers wintered on those flats and I always keep an eye out for her when down there. Kept my eyes out to the water until I decided to call it a morning, turned around to start heading to the Jeep..yes, the channel was full as far as I could see either direction. CRAP! I ended up walking all the way back the way I came and then hug the Audubon’s Sanctuary all the way back. Guessing anybody who saw me thought I was crazy as I was giving myself a good talking too the whole time back hehehe. 

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Following the flying birds with the big lens was quite the workout. I need to go out and do it again. I would like to capture them actually catching a fish – All About Birds says that when their upper bill snaps shut, it is accompanied by a quick lift of the head, and then they immediately swallow it down. I’d also like to get some shots close enough and clear enough to see their eyes – that vertical pupil sounds awesome. Thanks for coming by, Brad, and for your comments!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sam, you just named something I have finally learned: watch for the cues for the desired behavior. Bald Eagles will “flutter” above the water just before a dive towards fish. Great Egrets, well I haven’t quite figured out the precise trigger to catch them “fishing”, but Jan did a good job last time. Keep working those lens muscles.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello Sam,
    What a wonderful birding outing! I am envious (in a good way) as I missed seeing our migratory waders last Spring and Autumn.
    All are lovely, but I especially loved the Long-billed Curlew. Such a lovely bird.
    Reminds me of the Far Eastern Curlew, which we used to see here during migratory seasons. However, they have become very endangered and scarce.
    As always, I enjoy “living vicariously” through your lens 🙂 Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I looked up your Far Eastern Curlew, the largest of the curlews, and having the longest bill of any sandpiper. Yours is darker brown, and ours more cinnamon – and both have that long graceful bill. Their Genus name, Numenius, refers to the shape of the new moon, which I think is a lovely and poetic touch. Thanks for reading, Takami, and for your comments!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Super outing and I love the preening Curlew! Bill tried 3 times to comment but was defeated by WordPress. He said “you are getting pretty good at this. And you must have a great lens! Well done images and great light!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WordPress is trying its best to ruin its famous “simple and works everywhere” name. Next time you try to comment, can you send me some screenshots of your steps? I might ( m i g h t ) be able to work with Support to improve things.

      Bill is right, I do have a great lens 🙂 and I love using it! Thanks for your comments, Linda M!

      Like

    1. Heh, you are so right, the Skimmers do provide a workout. In fact, following all the shorebirds on this outing is part of what made it fun – there was always something in motion, always another bird to visit with. Thanks for stopping by, Ted, and for your comments.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.