Plunge-diving Forster’s Terns

Shallow water at Bolivar Point provided a rich hunting ground for graceful Forster’s Terns.

February 13th, 2024 ~ My sunset visit to Frenchtown Road, in Port Bolivar, Texas may have ended with the calm and capable Oystercatcher, but it began with a small flock of zooming, splashing, diving Forster’s Terns.

Adult Forster’s Tern approaching breeding plumage
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

The Forster’s Tern, Sterna forsteri, is a smaller member of the Tern (sterna) Genus, which is part of the Gulls and Skimmers Family (Laridae). Terns used to be considered gulls, but were divided from them back in the 1800’s when their much more streamlined bodies, narrow pointed bills, long narrow wings and swallow-like tails made it clear they were fundamentally different from the ponderous gulls. Recently an additional differentiator has been discovered: while the rest of the Laridae Family can see ultra-violet light, the Sterna Genus cannot; Terns rely on the visible spectrum, as we do.

Forster’s Tern hovering to spy a fish
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

They are fun to photograph, because they follow a predictable flight path. They work a long narrow loop across shallow water, repeatedly using the same starting point, slowing almost to a hover, then plunging almost straight down into the water for small fish. Really small fish, roughly the length of their bright bill.

Foster’s Tern showing eye patch that will become full black cap during breeding season
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

If they didn’t spot a fish after hovering a few seconds, they looped back to the starting point, and raced down the same path again. If they came up empty after having dived on a fish, they tried again, up to three times in quick succession, like a stone skipping across the surface, before doubling back to their starting point. The quiet evening was punctuated by the repeated smacks of birds hitting the water.

They establish several elongated tracks across the water. While the one in the photo above worked a track from my left to my right, the one below worked the shallow water parallel to the marshy edge. He was successful, and has a tiny blue-brown fish… with something else, too small to identify, perhaps a dragonfly or a weed.

A successful catch
1/2500 sec. f/8 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

I found positive identification of the Forster’s Tern to be challenging. The Common Tern, Sterna hirundo, looks almost the same, especially when seasonal color changes are considered. The Common has orange bill and feet that turn red during the breeding season, while the Forster’s has orange bill with black tip. They both have the forked tail, with the Common’s as long as his wings when resting, and the Forster’s longer than his wings. The Common has more black in the tips of his wings than the Forster; the Forster’s wing tips may look smudgy gray from below, but they are white from above.  

 The Forster’s Terns breed along the Texas and Louisiana Gulf Coast, while the Common Tern is only here during the winter… except for first-year birds who may choose not to migrate north, staying the whole year along the Gulf Coast, and mingling confusingly with the Forster’s.  

The eBird sightings maps show that the Common Tern is much less populous here than the Forster’s Tern. So, given that the diving birds I saw were not-yet-breeding birds, with orange-and-black bill, pale wing tips, and what appeared to be very long outer tail feathers, I leaned on the statistics and concluded these were Forster’s Terns.

Watch out below!
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

The Forster’s were diving from a height of roughly 20 – 25 feet, almost straight down into the water. This is no great height for plunge-divers; Brown Pelicans can safely dive from 70 feet, and the Northern Gannet dives from heights of 100 feet or more. But this small flock of 20 or 30 Forster’s Terns, was having a fine time, coming up with prey about one out of four dives.

Forster’s Tern hits the water, target in sight
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total) 

With a splash, this bird appeared to belly-flop into the water, his tail held straight up, his head just beneath the surface. (I’m sure it’s not a belly flop, as a day spent doing that would be uncomfortable!)

Forster’s Tern with only his wingtips above water
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

He sank until just the tips of his upraised wings were still above the surface, then, with a powerful thrust of his wings, flew up out of the water.

Forster’s Tern zooms away with his prey
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

Another fish caught! Note that the upper sides of this bird’s primaries are white where the Common Tern’s would be smudged black.

Confusion aside, I thoroughly enjoyed my evening watching Terns arrowing into the estuary off Bolivar Point. And I will be back: I’m looking forward to seeing their mating displays, strutting side by side, and doing a fish-exchange.

Author: Sam.Rappen

Retired from a major US manufacturer after 36 years of exciting work. Avid amateur bird watcher and photographer, and occasional blogger.

19 thoughts on “Plunge-diving Forster’s Terns”

  1. Examining these photos made me feel queasy, as if the world was swooping out from under me like an amusement park ride! Amazing, beautiful birds, marvelously photographed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Intellectually, I know they are just focused on the deadly serious task of filling their daily nutritional needs… but they are lovely to watch, and so seemingly joyful. Glad I could convey the motion of that dive, and you felt it – very cool! Thanks for reading, and for commenting, LB!

      Like

  2. Great photos Sam! And fantastic patience to discern their flight patterns and then wait for it to repeat. Finding the “tell” is often the key to great bird photos, and you’ve done that here. We had a lot of splashes last year in our attempts in SC, but Jan figured out the pattern and was able to catch a few with tiny fish as a reward.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well done Sam – Forester’s and the rest of the Terns for that matter are no small effort to tin and you got some wonderful shots. I like that third shot as its really giving you a good look at the deeply forked tail and the vertical dive shot is absolutely excellent. It doesn’t take my arms long to turn to jelly trying to get shots of them hunting. You are absolutely right about them giving a tell when they throw on the brakes before diving. I’ve even noticed they raise a bit higher right before the plunge which signals me to start firing away and trying my best to follow them to the water. The part that always amazes me is how far they go into the water – Osprey like how far they submerge. Shows you how much power they have in those wings to raise up with that downward force of water and still climb fast with those wet wings. I must say, I am not sure whether I have ever gotten shots of them with a successful catch – very nice. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked all the action shots, Brian! I do so enjoy getting to see and photograph birds actually going about their natural activities. I was starting to feel the rhythm of the Terns’ zoom-hover-dive but I missed far more shots than I got, so more practice is needed! I was holding my breath with the one that I caught submerged – if I think in terms of how fast their little hearts beat, he was submerged for much longer, relatively speaking, than I could have been. Hope your grand tour is going well, and that our drenching rains haven’t held you back!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I cannot plan those bird-with-prey shots, they just happen. And I’m so tickled when they do! I was surprised at the small size of the fish – and the Terns can spot them from 10 – 20 feet in the air, through all the sparkling reflection of the water. AND, since the Terns cannot see in ultraviolet, they don’t even get the advantage of being able to see the glowing markings that many fish have. It’s a wonderful mystery!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Whooohooo! Great catches of exceedingly fast birds! Terns are so much fun and a real challenge to keep up with. We are so fortunate to have Bolivar and other coastal areas for such a variety of shore birds.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, when I consider the wealth of habitats, all within reasonable driving distance, I’m amazed at my good fortune, to have landed here.

      They are fast, aren’t they? Everything they do is designed to give an unwary fish the least possible warning. We live in an incredibly wonderful world!

      Like

  5. Excellent series of photographs, Sam!

    Forster’s Terns are a lot of fun to watch as you found out. Hovering, diving, zipping around like jets – I didn’t say they were easy to keep up with. As you apparently also found out.

    I strongly suspect Point Bolivar is on your “must return to” list.

    Like

    1. Yes, the Point is definitely worth the 2-hour drive. Actually, that weekend was just about perfect… we drove down and stayed in a VRBO for a couple nights, which means earlier mornings and later evenings were very do-able. I was once again thrilled with the performance of my gimbal-headed tripod, which make keeping up with their speedy flights and the sudden stops when they hover much easier than hand-holding. I carry the camera assembled and collapsed on the tripod, and the whole thing slung over my shoulder – thank goodness the roadside is flat sand at that point.

      Like

    1. That hazy sky is almost a standard down along the Gulf, where moisture hangs in the air almost, but not quite, thick enough to be clouds. It makes exposing for white birds a little easier… but I wish I’d gotten a catchlight in their eyes from the setting sun. Well, that’s yet another reason to go back! Thanks for stopping by, and for commenting, Tina!

      Like

  6. I’ve learned to distinguish terns from gulls, but given your description of these birds’ behavior, I suspect I’ve seen them working the shallow waters at Brazoria. I’ll have to watch more closely at work, though. It’s quite common to see young terns arrayed along the breakwater pilings at Lakewood, calling for food. It’s fun to watch the parents wheel in, fish in beak, but I’m not sure now which tern I’ve been seeing. I’ve assumed they were common terns, but given what you say about those being winter residents, I need to take a better look.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I struggled with the identification, more than you know. I left out several photos that seemed contradictory, including two birds that seemed to be mating, half-hidden by the shell reef… and of indeterminate plumage for breeding birds. It will take me a LOT of practice to get these two species clearly separated. Can’t think of a better way to spend an evening than swinging my camera back and forth on my tripod, watching these wonderful birds make their strafing runs!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They were so much fun to watch. It has been more than a month since I saw them, I suspect that they are all decked out in their breeding finery by now, I should get moving! Thanks for reading, and for commenting, Gigi!

      Like

Leave a comment