Quick Trip to Northeast Texas

In the Pineywoods, we renewed our acquaintance with several birds, and were introduced to one new one.

March 24th, 2024 ~ We joined a family gathering at the end of March during Spring Break, and had fun watching some birds near Tyler, in northeastern Texas. Texas Parks and Wildlife identifies six geographic regions of Texas; the northeast portion is called “the Pineywoods”. It consists of mixed evergreen and hardwood forests, and deep red sandy clay soil.

Greater Roadrunner low in the trees
1/2500 sec. f/8 ISO 500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

A Greater Roadrunner, Geococcyx californianus, had been spotted several days before in the tall grass along a hedgerow. It was a natural place for him (or her, they look the same), since a broad rolling pasture opens out beyond the fence providing plenty of running-around-and-hunting space. On this day, I was surprised to see him leap up into the trees. They tend to nest three to ten feet off the ground among thick branches, so maybe this Hackberry tree was concealing a family!

Greater Roadrunner showing off his catch
1/2500 sec. f/8 ISO 500
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

We don’t know for sure, because he disappeared with his prize, into the leafy shade. But I was tickled to get this image of him, with what I think is a skink, a small salamander-like lizard. Aren’t the roadrunner’s colors amazing? Those are the colors of an un-feathered portion of facial skin, normally hidden by feathers, but revealed here, as part of their breeding display.

Female Red-bellied Woodpecker
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

The late afternoon sunlight was slanting through trees on the shore of Lake Palestine (locals say “Pal-ess-teen”), and caught the bright shining feathers of this female Red-bellied Woodpecker, Melanerpes carolinus. She had stopped mid-swallow to check out my camera, so you can still just barely see her barbed tongue, used to fish bugs out from under bark, or from the large holes she excavates in trees.

Wary female Red-bellied Woodpecker
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

She worked diligently all along the craggy bark of both the living and dead trees. Here, you can almost get a glimpse of the indistinct red smudge low on her belly between her feet, which gives her species its name. Males look the same except that their red cap extends all the way from the nape of their neck to their bill. Her drumming on the trees was very audible.

Carolina Chickadee knows I’m no risk
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

A Carolina Chickadee, Poecile carolinensis, danced along the oak limb high overhead, hunting for bugs right-side up and upside-down, taking maximum advantage of the last direct rays of the sun.

House Sparrow female, in late afternoon sun
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

A female House Sparrow, Passer domesticus, flitted between the younger trees closer to the road. Her tawny belly, wing bar, and eye stripe are very different from the rich russet and gray of the male House Sparrow, with his black bib and white wing bar. Her occasional song got mixed up with the more vocal Robins and Mockingbirds that were hunting in the same space, so it wasn’t till I was home and could look her up that I got a good identification.

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker female, showing just a hint of yellow
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1250
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

There were several Yellow-bellied Sapsuckers, Sphyrapicus varius, among the trees. I kept losing track of which ones I was following, and which I’d seen before, as the muted sound of their drilling echoed unidirectionally between the trees. All are females, as the males have a bright red chin to match their crown. The row of holes (sapwells) drilled by this bird is evident; she is ringing her tree, literally drilling for sap; she will use her brush-tipped tongue to lap up the fresh sap and any bugs caught in it.

The Yellow-bellied Sapsuckers migrate from their winter grounds in Central America and the southern US, to their breeding grounds spread across the middle of Canada (see map, below). All About Birds adds an interesting note: Hummingbirds also visit the sapwells, and in some areas of Canada, the Ruby-throated Hummingbirds time their arrival in their nesting grounds to coincide with the arrival of the sapsuckers. The sapsuckers vigorously defend their trees, against hummers, bats, warblers and squirrels, as well as other sapsuckers.

Another reference notes that the holes drilled by the sapsucker are deep but narrow and heal quickly, so they are not a serious threat to the trees.

Female Yellow-bellied Sapsucker on the lookout
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

On a different branch, another sapsucker was starting a new hole. The pattern of white rows across her wings is actually an array of white dots, visible when she spreads her wings. Her tail has white dots to match.

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker with protective eyelid half-closed
1/2500 sec. f/5.6 ISO 1600
Nikon D850 with Nikkor 600mm f/4 + 1.4x TC (850mm total)

I spotted an intriguing detail when I got the photos onto the big screen in my digital darkroom. Note that this bird has her eye half-closed. Her eyelid closes front-to-back, rather than the more common top-to-bottom or bottom-to-top of most birds. When the chips fly, her eyes are well-protected. Her eyeballs are also protected from deformation during her drilling activities, by the strong lid which is aligned across the direction of her hammering force.

Range maps for the birds in this post, courtesy of All About Birds, and Cornell’s Birds of the World

I thoroughly enjoyed my quick visit to northeast Texas. The Yellow-bellied Sapsucker was a plus-one bird for me, and I learned new things about the birds I’d seen before. Family and birds – I couldn’t ask for a better vacation!

Author: Sam.Rappen

Retired from a major US manufacturer after 36 years of exciting work. Avid amateur bird watcher and photographer, and occasional blogger.

24 thoughts on “Quick Trip to Northeast Texas”

  1. Every now and then I laugh again when I bump up against ‘photographer talk.’ Say ‘big glass’ to me, and I’m thinking iced tea!

    I sure was surprised to see a roadrunner from east Texas. I’ve always associated them with the hill country or west Texas, which are the only places I’ve seen them. In the anything-is-possible category, I offer my hill country friend who had a roadrunner as a pet. Her kids still gripe about the fact that she’d slice up steak for the bird and give them ground beef.

    The details about the sapsucker’s eyelids is fascinating, and I enjoyed the closeup of the red-bellied woodpecker. I have one that’s coming to my feeders now, to pluck the occasional shelled peanut for a treat.

    As for those east Texas pines, I use both forms: piney woods as a description of a particular stand of trees, and pineywoods for the region as a whole. That may just be me, of course. Language isn’t taxonomy: its fluidity is a feature, not a bug. As long as we’re communicating, we’re doing it right — or so I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First off, congrats on the new one! YB Saps are always a good find even here where we have pretty good access to them – I always have to look for their yellow tinge on the breast to make sure I don’t overlook them for our other peckers. I will say the Red-Bellied is on my list for stupidly names birds as that “smudge” isn’t readily available. That and the Downies are our standard fare so to speak in our woods with slightly less being the Red-Headed and the Pileated. Great catch with the skink in the Roadrunner bill – a prized capture I am sure the family will appreciate. I did now know that about the Hummers and the Sapsucker holes, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember being so frustrated the first time I tried to identify a Red-bellied Woodpecker I’d photographed; I was in denial: “But there is no red on this one’s belly!” Then again, when I think about the huge variety of new species naturalists faced when first exploring North America… they got a lot right!

      Getting good images of a Pileated is still high on my list; I think I need to try some woods closer to the eastern edge of Texas and the Sabine River – another reason to step out of the home zone!

      Hope you are safely home (or nearly so), and didn’t have to deal with that strong norther that spawned tornadoes in Louisiana earlier this week!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, we made it home, the day before the eclipse which was our plan – we were caught on the road for the last one and had no interest in going through that again ha. Also glad we missed the Louisiana issues. We have to deal with the tornadoes at home (in fact yesterday we were under a watch), and can’t imagine having to deal with that in our RV ugh. Good luck on the pileateds – one of our few birding brightspots here in the midwest.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I had gotten some “as he was running by” photos of one in northern Texas, and another in southern Oklahoma, and neither showed even a hint of movable feathers over the ear, or of colored skin near the eye or ear. At least one had raised its crest in agitation at me and my lens, but the facial skin was not revealed. Birds have so much to teach us! Glad you stopped by, Xena, and thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll feel really tickled when I recognize enough birds that I will know in the field that I’m seeing a new one, instead of waiting in suspense until I can confirm with online references 🙂 Thanks for your kind words, Donna!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. An impressive collection of birds! I’ve always thought of the roadrunner as a desert species, so I was floored to learn you saw it in Tyler and the Piney Woods. Capturing it in a tree … having captured a lizard …is just amazing. What a treat!

    ALL your photos and info are amazing- and I’ll now be looking for hummers following the sapsuckers on their way north. Thanks for the heads up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wasn’t that tidbit about sapsucking hummers amazing? The interconnectedness of life on our wonderful planet is a constant source of Ah-ha moments. Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

      Like

  4. Great photographs.

    The combination of visiting with family in the setting of Texas’ Piney Woods is hard to beat.

    Congratulations on another life bird! We look forward to seeing the Yellow-bellied Sapsucker each year during migration.

    When we lived in San Antonio, we made frequent trips to our friends’ place near Palestine, a little southeast of Tyler. That’s where we first learned about those piney woods.

    Sounds like a wonderful trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was, indeed, a wonderful visit, on so many levels… and my family was so generous to let me go poking my lens into their trees, instead of being more sociable!

      I struggled with spelling the name of this region… I had written “Piney Woods”, as one would expect, but then found the Texas Parks and Wildlife website, where they used the term “Pineywoods” multiple times. English is so fluid, sometimes it’s hard to keep up!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t that the sweetest little bird, with such subtle caramel and taffy colors! For years (decades… nearly half a century, if I’m honest) I had little idea that birds had different plumages, and sadly I often lumped the less flamboyant females into a generic pile of “sorta brownish birds”. I’m so glad I’m learning the difference now!

      Like

      1. They are all so beautiful. We don’t have the “fancy” birds in the Chicago area but we have birds of prey, and a bunch of other small birds. I miss the crows. They all died from the bird flu and they are so slow in coming back. They use to play in my birdbaths and I fed them. Love them, but they are gone. I’ve seen maybe four in years.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve gotten one on two different occasions before, but never so clearly, or with prey, or with those colors – which I never in all the world expected! Birds keep giving us more reasons to get outside!

      Like

  5. Nicely captured Sam. Always nice to see and hear the woodpeckers in our area. I see that big glass and TC are working well for you. And you answered one question about woodpeckers for me; how they protect their eyes. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s remarkable that woodpecker drumming is at once so easy to identify… and so difficult to locate! I’m so thankful for the big glass, and appreciate every opportunity to see birds up close. I’m in awe of the birders who studied and learned so much before big glass and fast cards were available!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Agreed. Can you imagine manually focusing a long lens, setting exposure and shutter speed, all while using film? In three seconds (current camera capability) I’d have gone through a whole roll of film.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment